...it's all about being your pal

Waheed Odusile emerges new NUJ President

25/07/2015 09:04

The Nigeria Union of Journalist has elected Mr. Abdulwaheed Odusile of the Nation Newspapers as its new president. He succeeds Malam Garba Mohammed.

Osusile was declared winner of the keenly contested election by the returning officer and Director, African Affairs, International Federation of Journalists, Mr. Gabriel Baglow.

He, at the National Delegates Conference of NUJ held in Abuja on Saturday, pulled 354 votes to defeat his closest opponent Mr. Rotimi Obamuwagun who got 333 votes.

Other contestants for the position of the President included Mr. Dele Atunibi, who got 51 votes, USA Uzaka, who received 46 votes and Alhaji Mustafa Lamidi who got 12 votes.

Mr. Mohammad Shu clinched the position of the financial secretary of the union after he secured 454 votes to defeat his contender Mr. Ajayi Olugbenga.

The post of the National Treasurer went to Mrs. Monica Okechukwu, who got 310 votes to defeat two other contestants, namely, Mr. Garba Iliya and Mr. Ambrose Nwachukwu.

The positions of Deputy National President, National Internal Auditor and the Vice-President, North-Central, were filled unopposed.

Mr. Chris Isiguzo was declared winner of the South-East Vice-President after he defeated Mr. Goddy Okafor, while Aisha Ibrahim clinched the position of Vice-President North-East.

Other officials elected were Opaka Dokubo, Zonal Secretary South South, Mr. Kenneth Ofoma Zonal Secretary, South-East while Suleiman Ibrahim emerged Secretary, North-East.

Similarly, Mr. Hakeem Olatidoye emerged Secretary, North-Central and Mr. Lawal Afolabi won the post of the Secretary, South-West Zone.

Delegates to the conference were drawn from NUJ councils from the 36 states of the Federation and the FCT.



Search site


Send an email: Content Manager: segunadeoye1@gmail.com

Inquiry Manager: angel.hgeorge@gmail.com