...it's all about being your pal

NABJ's Hall of Fame induction holds Dec 16

06/07/2015 14:25

The National Association of Black Journalists has announced that its 40th Anniversary Gala and 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Induction will take place in Washington, D.C. on December 16, 2015.  Induction into the Hall of Fame is the highest honor NABJ gives for professional excellence and advocacy on behalf of African American journalists. The event will also celebrate NABJ's 40th Anniversary and will be held at the Marriott Wardman Park (formerly Sheraton Park Hotel), where 44 black journalists signed the NABJ founding document.

The 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Induction will pay homage to 11 legendary black journalists whose outstanding careers have inspired and earned the respect of their peers.  The Hall of Fame was created in 1990 when seven distinguished African American journalists, including Dorothy Butler Gilliam, Mal H. Goode, Mal Johnson, Gordon Parks, Ted Poston, Norma Quarles and Carl T. Rowan became the charter Inductees.  Since then, 64 journalists have received the honor, among them:  Ed Bradley, Chuck Stone, Carol Simpson, Les Payne, Robert Maynard, Lynn Norment, Vernon Jarrett and Bernard Shaw. For a complete listing of previous Inductees, visit www.nabj.org.  The 2015-2016 Inductees will be announced later this month. 
As part of its 40th Anniversary celebration, NABJ will also honor its 44 Founders by inducting them into the Hall of Fame.

"We are proud of NABJ's forty years of service and advocacy. The lives and careers of the Hall of Fame Inductees epitomize our purpose and accomplishments," said NABJ Executive Director Darryl R. Matthews, Sr.

Search site


Send an email: Content Manager: segunadeoye1@gmail.com

Inquiry Manager: angel.hgeorge@gmail.com