...it's all about being your pal

CNN/Multichoice African Journalist awards announces 2012 finalists

18/05/2012 17:39

Ferial Haffajee, chair, independent judging panel of the 2012 CNN/Multichoice African Journalist awards has announced the finalists of the competition now in its 17th year.



“The growing quality of the entries we pored over is a reflection of a growing continent claiming its place in the sun,” Haffajee said.  “We were impressed by the enhanced quality and competitiveness of the work before us; by the heart and soul poured onto pages and into pixels; by the adventurist spirit of the entries which came from more countries than ever before.”


Out of the entries sent in from 42 countries, including French and Portuguese speaking countries, 34 finalists were shortlisted, representing 12 countries.


They are:


  • Tunde Akingbade, Freelance, The Guardian on Sunday,Nigeria
  • Joshua Anny, Joy FM, Ghana
  • Manar Attiya, Ahram Hebdo, Egypt
  • Adriaan Basson & Piet Rampedi, CityPress,South Africa
  • Najlae Benmbarek, 2M TV, Maroc
  • Demelza Bush, Craig McKune & Verashni Pillay, Mail & Guardian Online,South Africa
  • Ramusel Graça,Televisão Santomense, São Tomé e Príncipe 
  • Arsénio Henriques, Soico – STV, Moçambique
  • Edward Echwalu, Freelance for The Observer,Uganda
  • Teresa Sofia Fortes, A Semana, Cabo Verde
  • Isabel João, Novo Jornal, Angola
  • Ahaoma Kanu, National Daily Newspaper, Nigeria
  • Tom Mboya & Evanson Nyaga, Citizen TV,Kenya
  • Andrew Mulenga, The PostNewspaper,Zambia
  • Nimrod Taabu Mwagamoyo & Charles Kinyua Kariuki, NTV,Kenya
  • Waihiga Mwaura & Jephitha Mwai Mwangi, Citizen TV,Kenya
  • John Muchangi Njiru, The Star,Kenya
  • Peter Nkanga, Elor Nkereuwem, Musikilu Mojeed & Idris Akinbajo, NEXT on Sunday, Nigeria
  • Antoine de Ras, The Star,South Africa
  • Megan Small & Clive Mtshali, 3rd Degree, e.tv,South Africa
  • Stephen Ssenkaaba, NewVision,Uganda
  • Joy Summers,Carte Blanche,South Africa
  • Gerald Tenywa, SaturdayVision,Uganda
  • Nelson Wesonga, DailyMonitor,Uganda


Entries were entered in the following categories: Arts & Culture: Digital Journalism Award; The Coca-Cola Company Economics and Business Award: Environment: Free Press Africa; HIV/AIDS Reporting;   MSD Health & Medical:  Mohamed Amin Photographic;   Print General News;  Radio General News; Sport; Television Features; Television News Bulletin;  Tourism;  Francophone General News Awards (Print and Electronic Media);  Portuguese Language General News


The Award ceremony and gala evening will hold in Lusaka, Zambia, July 21, with Isha Sesay, host of CNN International’s NewsCenter and Franklin Tembo Jr. ZNBC presenter. The winners will be announced at the ceremony.


Other members of the judging panel apart from Haffajee, editor-in-chief, City Press, South Africa, includes: Ikechukwu Amaechi, Editor, Daily Independent, Nigeria; Amadou Mahtar Ba, CEO, African Media Initiative; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions; Joel Kibazo, journalist and media consultant; Arlindo Lopes, General Manager, Regulatory & Corporate, Angola and Mozambique, MultiChoice Africa Ltd; Judge Arlindo lopes, General Manager, Regulatory & Corporate, Angola and Mozambique, MultiChoice Africa Ltd Judge Arlindo lopes, General Manager, Regulatory & Corporate, Angola and Mozambique, MultiChoice Africa LtdZipporah Musau,  former Managing Editor,  Magazines, The Standard Group Ltd, Kenya; Kim Norgaard, CNN Bureau Chief, South Africa. Bruno Manteigas, UK Correspondent, Agência Lusa assisted in the judging of the Portuguese General News Category.


- Your Pal



More on the web

Decision making time for CNN/Multichoice African Journalists panel of judges





Search site


Send an email: Content Manager: segunadeoye1@gmail.com

Inquiry Manager: angel.hgeorge@gmail.com